Adult Nursing alternative qualifications

Alternative qualifications accepted for 2019 entry to Adult Nursing with the Health Foundation Year

BTEC Qualifications Grades Subjects GCSEs
Level 3 Extended Diploma or National Diploma MMP Any subject except Early Years

Applicants will normally be required to hold at least five GCSEs, at grade 4 (C) or above including: Mathematics and English Language. From 2017, for applicants taking reformed GCSE qualifications in England, we will consider the new Grade 4 as being equivalent to a grade 4 (C).

Please note that we do not accept equivalent qualifications for Mathematics and English Language, and no longer accept Level 2 Key Skills/Functional Skills.

GCSEs can be pending when the application is submitted.

BTEC National Diploma in Early Years MMM   As above
Level 3 Diploma or BTEC National Certificate DM Any subject except Early Years As above
BTEC National Certificate in Early Years DD   As above
BTEC National Aware of Subsidiary Diploma Accepted only with other qualifications Any subject As above
Other qualifications    
Welsh Baccalaureate Advanced Diploma Pass accepted with one A level grade C Any subject GCSE Maths and English language/literature grade 4 (C)
International Baccalaureate Pass plus one science subject (higher or standard level)   GCSE Maths and English language/literature grade 4 (C)
Access to HE Diploma NOT accepted Please contact the School of Nursing and Midwifery for advice
Applicants' qualifications that are not listed will be considered on an individual basis.  Evidence of recent study within the last five years is desirable.
International/EU candidates Contact the School of Nursing and Midwifery for information on acceptable qualifications. Candidates whose first language is not English will normally have IELTS level 7.0 (with 7.0 in each subset). The University may be able to accept alternative English Language qualifications from applicants from outside the European Economic Area (EEA) on a case by case basis in line with the appropriate Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) guidelines.  IGCSE grade B may be accepted.