Royal Institute of Philosophy Lectures

We hold regular Royal Institute of Philosophy events in which leading philosophers are invited to Keele to talk about their research and answer questions from our students. This is perhaps the most popular invited lecture series in the university and anyone interested in philosophy is welcome to attend.




Current Programme

Tuesdays 6:00-7:30 pm

Room CBA0.060, Chancellor's Building, Keele University ST5 5BG

All welcome! Wine

Semester 1

16 October 2018

Professor Shane O'Neill, Keele University

Hegel, Social Freedom and the Purpose of Universities Today

13 November 2018

Dr Sophie Allen, Keele University

Can we use powers to repel zombies?

20 November   

Dr Sarah Hitchen, Lancaster University

Ambiguity of Public Commemorations of Conflict

11 December 2018

Dr David Leech, University of Bristol

On the concept of religious love

Semester 2



22 January 2019

Dr Ralf Bader, Merton College Oxford

Kantian Meta-Ontology

19 February 2019

Dr Gulzaar Barn, University of Birmingham

On Embodied Labour


CANCELLED:  Dr Michael Bacon, Royal Holloway, University of London

Freedom as an Ideal in Emerson and Rorty

2 April 2019

Emil Visnovsky, Comenius University in Bratislava

Pragmatism, Posthumanism, and Transhumanism

30 April 2019

Dr Catherine Abell, University of Manchester

Fictional Entities

7 May 2019

Professor Fiona Ellis, University of Roehampton

Naturalism and Transcendence

RIP image

Former speakers have included:

Darragh Byrne, Sophie Allen, Jonathan Webber, G.A.J. Rogers, Geraldine Coggins, Anthony Wrigley, Raj Sehgal, Andy Hamilton, John Divers, Rob Hopkins, Luc Foisneau, Daniel Nolan, Paul Bou-Habib, J.J. Valberg, Lucas Meyer, David Efird, Monika Mookherjee, Ann Whittle, Max Kölbel, Paul O’Grady, Dan O’Brien, Neil Gascoigne, Daniel Hutto, Thomas Dixon, Lorraine Code, Dermot Moran, Roxana Baiasu, Julia Tanney, Peter Baumann, Lilian Alweiss, Adrian Haddock, Denis McManus, Paul Gorner, Penelope Mackie, Gordon Finlayson, Robert Hanna, Philip Meadows, Adrian Moore, Stephen McLeod, Nafsika Athanassoulis, Rowland Stout, Sebastian Gardner, Paul Faulkner, Miranda Fricker, Peter Niesen, Glen Newey, Maximilian de Gaynesford, Maria Alvarez, Constantine Sandez, Ralph Walker, Richard Grey, William Child, Katerina Deligiorgi, Stephen Wilkinson, Helen Beebee, Chrisopher Bennett, Stephen Boulter, Nils Kurbis, Danièle Moyale-Sharrock, Matthias Klaes, Jens Timmermann, Helen Steward, Alberto Vanzo, Daniel Whiting, John Hyman, Lilian O'Brien, Sam Coleman, Marcia Baron, Geoffrey Scarre, Michelle Montague, Marianna Antonutti Marfori, Alessandra Tanesini, Paula Satne, Lisa McNulty, Roger Teichmann, Peter Kail, Fiona Hughes, Scott Sehon, Katerina Deligiorgi, Graeme Forbes, Oskari Kuusela, Jonathan Way, Alice Pinheiro-Walla, Robert Stern, Philip Goff, James Kirwan, Stephen Mumford, James Andow, James Lenman, Clayton Littlejohn, John Cottingham, John Callanan,Marit Hammond, Guy Bennett-Hunter, Amie Thomasson, Giuseppina D’Oro, Alex Papazoglou, Paul Giladi, Hans Bernhard Schmid, Stephen Makin, Nicholas Waghorn, Jonathan Head.

The Invited Lecture Series is organised with the support of the Royal Institute of Philosophy, the School of Politics, Philosophy and International Relations at Keele (SPIRE), the Keele-Oxford-St Andrews Kantian (KOSAK) Research Centre and the Forum for Philosophical Research.

All enquiries to: Dr Jonathan Head -  01782 733515

Find out more about Philosophy at Keele