School of Chemical and Physical Sciences

The School of Chemical and Physical Sciences is based in the Lennard-Jones Building at the heart of the Keele campus. We offer an exciting range of undergraduate degree programmes in Chemistry, Forensics Science and Physics, as well as postgraduate taught opportunities in Analytical Science for Industry. Our students are given hands-on laboratory experience using modern research-standard instrumentation from the outset of all degree programmes.

We are known for our inter-disciplinary approach to chemical and physical sciences.

In parallel with our teaching, we perform research across the school with particular strengths in astrophysics, materials science, synthetic, forensic and analytical chemistry.

Our students have access to state-of-the-art, industry-standard equipment, including the refurbished Lennard-Jones laboratories and on-site Keele Observatory.

School address

Lennard-Jones School of Chemical and Physical Sciences
Lennard-Jones Building
Keele University
Staffordshire
ST5 5BG, UK
Phone (School Office): +44 (0)1782 733033,
+44 (0)1782 733527
or +44 (0)1782 734225 
Email: chemistry@keele.ac.uk, forensics@keele.ac.uk, physics@keele.ac.uk

Programme directors

Chemistry and Medicinal Chemistry
Dr Matthew O'Brien
Tel : +44 (0)1782 734371
Email : m.obrien@keele.ac.uk

Forensic Science
Dr Jamie K. Pringle
Tel : +44 (0)1782 733163
Email : j.k.pringle@keele.ac.uk

Physics and Astrophysics
Dr Arumugam Mahendrasingam
Tel : +44 (0)1782 733312
Email : a.mahendrasingam@keele.ac.uk

 

Admission tutors

Chemistry and Medicinal Chemistry
Dr Natalie Capel
Tel : +44 (0)1782 733584
Email : n.j.capel@keele.ac.uk

Forensic Science
Victoria Cartwright
Tel : +44 (0)1782 733584
Email : v.cartwright@keele.ac.uk

Physics and Astrophysics
Dr Patrick Connell
Tel : +44 (0)1782 733892
Email : physics@keele.ac.uk or p.j.connell@keele.ac.uk