Hawthorns Farewell

As a final celebration and farewell to Hawthorns, we managed to save a collection of Hawthorns signage which our alumni were able get their hands on.

Hawthorns building seen through the years We split the memorabilia into two lots and put some in to an auction and the rest into a lottery, so it was open to all alumni to have a go.

As a fitting tribute to Hawthorns, all proceeds from the lottery and auction are going to Accommodation Bursaries at Keele, to support students who otherwise might struggle to live on campus.

Available signage included block signs, site maps and house numbers, and the inventories are available below. Each sign was available separately so a bid or lottery ticket applied to only one sign per entry.

Auction winners

Large A Block Anonymous
Small A Block Edwin Kilby
Large B Block Amanda Knowles
Small B Block Jennifer Parks
Large C Block Elizabeth Whittaker
Small C Block Chris Smith
Large D Block Chidubem Iwobi
Small D Block Tom Reynolds
Large E Block Anonymous
Small E Block Joseph Robinson
Large F Block Brian Hewitt
Small F Block Samuel Mall
Large G Block Steve Halstead
Small G Block Matthew Charlton
Large H Block Jeevan Sandher
Small H Block Caroline Aulton
Large J Block Luke Wilcox
Small J Block Heather Brice
Large K Block Adam Nash
Small K Block Ceinwen Tilley
Large L Block Jennifer Ellis
Small L Block Chris Smith
Large M Block Sam Chicken
Small M Block James Hammerton
Small N Block Connor Spicer
Small O Block Amanda Summers
Small P Block Caroline Needham
Small R Block Andrew Lord
Small S Block Chris Smith
Large T Block Mike Elsmore
Large V Block Louise Willingham
Large W Block Ceinwen Tilley
Large Y Block Amy Jones
Large Z Block Dave Andrews
House 1 Russell Thomas
House 2 H D Murray
House 6 H D Murray
Flat A Elizabeth Whittaker
Flat C H D Murray
Flat E H D Murray
Flat G Matthew Charlton
Flat J H D Murray
Flat L H D Murray
Templar House Anthony Sharp
Templar Bar Julie Marsh
Hawthorns The Pod Steven Alder
CCTV Richard Hayler
Site Map (1) Dr David Thompson
Site Map (2) Bryony Wood
Hawthorns General Block Paul Clark
Hawthorns Sign (1) Alyson Bird
Hawthorns Sign (2) Damian Symons
Hawthorns Bar Alyson Bird

Lottery winners

Site Map Jane Lowe
Hawthorns Sign Jamie Girvin
Small A Block Anonymous
Small B Block John Paul Hardy
Small C Block Mark Watson
Small D Block Ruth Hobbs
Small E Block Karl Puzzar
Small F Block Jenna Watson
Small G Block Kate Maddock
Small H Block Nicola Gebbels
Small J Block Steve Clipstone
Small K Block Joanne Blannin
Small L Block Michael Powell
Small M Block Toby Hancock
CCTV Sign Anthony Wright
Hawthorns Map The Templar Bar sign and its winner

If you were successful in either the auction or lottery, we encourage you to send us a picture of your signage in its new home to alumni.hq@keele.ac.uk.

Hawthorns Signage Auction Catalogue

Download Hawthorns Auction Catalogue (922 KB)

Hawthorns Signage Lottery Catalogue

Download Hawthorns Lottery Catalogue (539 KB)

Terms and conditions

Hawthorns Auction Terms and Conditions

Download Auction Terms and Conditions (70 KB)

Hawthorns Lottery Terms and Conditions

Download Lottery Terms and Conditions (67 KB)


We expect you may have a few questions and we have tried to answer them in the FAQs below, but if you still have a question please email alumni.hq@keele.ac.uk or ring 01782 733587.