Council membership




Class 1: Ex Officio Register of Interests
Pro-Chancellor Dame Jo Williams


Chair of Alder Hay Children's Hospital

Deputy Pro-Chancellor and Senior Independent Member Richard Barnes 


Trustee - Lichfield Garrick Theatre Trust
Trustee - Burslem Port Trust
National Hornet Class Association (Commodore)

Deputy Pro-Chancellor

Richard Callaway


Nike UK

Deputy Pro-Chancellor

Sally Bucknell


EY LLP - Employee; Director, Diversity & Inclusiveness, UK&I.
Kingston University, London - Advisory Board Member, MBA Programme

Honorary Treasurer

David Hall


David Ross Educational Trust - Trustee
JCB Academy - Paid Consultant
Deloitte LLP - Retired Partner with Pension rights
Best Dressed Group Limited - Paid Consultant 
New Schools Network - Director / Trustee


Professor Trevor McMillan


Stoke and Staffordshire LEP 
Research England (Knowledge Exchange Champion)
Network Staffordshire (Chair)
Midlands Innovation (Chair)
Shropshire, Telford & Wrekin Integrated Care System (Non-Executive Director)

Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost

Professor Mark Ormerod


Harper Adams University - Governor, 2015 -
Borthwen Barns Management Company Limited - Director, 2016 -
Realise Foundation, The Aspire Group - Board Member
UK Hydrogen and Fuel Cells Network - Member of Science Advisory Board, 2012 -
Environmental Association of Universities and Colleges - Member of Future Business Council, 2015 -
Supergen Energy Network - Member of Industry Advisory Board, 2015 -
UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) - Member of Environmental Sustainability in Research & Innovation Sector Working Group, 2016 -
Research England - Member of REF Institutional Level Environmental Panel, 2019-2022
UKRI - Member of Environmental and Sustainability Advisory Group, 2021 -
UKRI - Member of Future Leaders Fellowship College, 2021 -

Class 2: Members of University Staff
Members of the Senate appointed by the electoral roll of the Faculties

Dr Shalini Sharma

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences


University and College Union Black Members Standing Committee
University and College Union

Dr Abigail Rutter

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences



Dr Masi Noor

Faculty of Natural Sciences


Co-editor in Chief, European Journal of Social Psychology

Appointed by the Professional Services Staff Electoral Roll

Emma Colley

Human Resources Directorate - Organisational Development


Heads of Organisational Development - Member
Midlands Staff Development Partnership - Member
Staff Development Forum - Member
Association of University Administrators - Member
The Technician Commitment - Peer Reviewer

Class 3: Lay Members Appointed by the Council

Ruth Bagley 


Warwickshire Rural Housing Association - Chair and board member
St Andrews Healthcare Trust - Non-Executive Director
Boundary Commission for England - Assistant Commissioner
Ardynt Consulting Ltd - Director
Palmers Leys Management Co Ltd - Director
Thames Valley Chamber of Commerce - Member and Associate
National Trust - Member
Archives and Records Association - Member
IoD - Member
RSA - Fellow 
Solace in Business - Associate
V&A Museum - Member

Andrew MacLeod


Griffin Law - Chairman/Owner
Burnham Global - NED
Outdoor Education Group - NED
Kings College London - Visiting Professor
Sendry - NED

Sherree Schaefer


Pay.UK Ltd - HR Director

Manali Lukha


Rubara Ltd. - Director
Head of Weather, ITV

David Brown


Oxford International Education Group - Shareholder & President; Non Exec Director
Association of Language Travel Organisations - Director
Oxford International Higher Education Board - Chair
Vanburgh Castle Ltd. - Director
ICD Partnership Ltd. - Director (resigned in April 2021)
BIC Partnership Ltd. - Director (resigned in April 2021)
LIPC Partnership Ltd. - Director (resigned in April 2021)
St Aldgates College Ltd. - Director (resigned in March 2021)
Oxford International Education and Travel Ltd. - Director (resigned in April 2021)
Oxford International Education Group Services Ltd. - Director (resigned in April 2021)
Oxford International Education 1 Ltd. - Director (resigned in March 2021)
Oxford International Education 2 Ltd. - Director (resigned in March 2021)
Oxford International Education 3 Ltd. - Director (resigned in March 2021)
Oxford Tutorial college Ltd. - Director (resigned in March 2021)
Studytrips Travel Ltd. - Director (company in liquidation)
Studytrips Ltd. - Director and Secretary (resigned in March 2021)
JIC Partnership Ltd. - Director (resigned in April 2021)
d'Overbroeck's Ltd. - Director (resigned in March 2021)
LPS (Oxford) Ltd. - Director (resigned April 2018)
OIDI Ltd. - Director (resigned April 2018)
RDDB Ltd. - Director (resigned April 2018)
Bucksmore Education Ltd. - Director (resigned April 2018)
Upskillist Ltd - Director

Lesley Thompson

2019- 2023

Chair of the Oxford Local Enterprise Partnership Innovation Board
University of Oxford (husband is an employee)
Elsevier Academic & Government Strategic Alliance - Director

Mike Farrar


Mike Farrar Health and Sport (Director and shareholder)
Project Rome Ltd (Director and Shareholder)
Mike Farrar Consulting Ltd (Director and Shareholder)
Spread Innovations Ltd (Director)
Ondine Biomedical Inc (Board Member and Shareholder)
Rugby League Players Welfare Forum (Chair)
UK Active (Chair) from 1/8/2022
Charity Bank Advisory Board (board member)
Vincent Housing Association (board member)
Visionable (advisor)
Positive Practice Mental Health Collaboration (Chair)

Tracy Bullock


University Hospitals of North Midlands (Chief Executive)

Jane Burns


Cheshire East Council (Employee – Executive Director of Corporate Services)
SOLACE (Society of Local Authority Chief Executives) (NED)

Hifsa Haroon-Iqbal


Department of Education (Regional Prevent Lead)
Westminster Academy (Governor)
Nisa-Nashim (Trustee)

Class 4: Students    

Holly Brooks

Union Development & Democracy (UDD) Officer



Sarah Hammond

President, Keele Postgraduate Association


Keele Postgraduate Association
Partner is a member of Keele staff


Mrs Clare Stevenson
Director of Legal, Governance and Compliance

 Governance Apprentices      
 Lucy Robinson    2021-2023  
 Jessica Okoro    2022-2023

BeScience STEM Ltd - Director
Consult Base Global Ltd - Director