The Summer Schools on Methods in Normative Political Theory/Philosophy at Keele University are sponsored by the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR), occasionally together with other funding bodies (for instance, for 2018, the British Academy) and are organised, jointly or on its own, by the ECPR Kantian Standing Group. The Schools give 15-20 graduate students and early postdoctoral researchers working in the field of moral and political philosophy/theory a unique opportunity to exchange research and teaching ideas with colleagues from other universities and research institutes.

This year's event will be the 9th ECPR Summer School organised or co-organised by Keele University and the fourth organised or co-organised by the Kantian Political Thought Standing Group. The previous Summer Schools took place in 2001, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016, and, with the exception of the 2016 Summer School organised at Limerick University, the previous events were at Keele. The Summer Schools in 2015 and 2016 were co-organised jointly by the ECPR Kantian and the Political Theory Standing Groups.

This year, the Summer School will focus on the topic of Political Epistemology and will be co-organised with the University of Siegen, where it will take place between 10 and 15 September. Academics who will teach at the Summer School include:


                                                          [Used by permission © Chris Bertram]                                                                 

  • Sorin Baiasu (Keele)
  • Sandrine Baume (Lausanne)
  • Adrian Blau (London)
  • Ruhi Demiray (Siegen)
  • Robert Goodin (ANU)
  • Michael Haus (Heidelberg)
  • Shunzo Majima (Hiroshima)
  • Matheson Russell  (Auckland)
  • Thomas Sukopp (Siegen)

For further questions, please contact the event convenor, Ruhi Demiray. See also our Facebook page.