The Senate is the academic governing body of the University. Its responsibility is to direct academic policy in relation to teaching and research and to assure itself that the University's academic standards are properly observed. Degrees, Diplomas, Certificates, Fellowships, Scholarships, prizes and other distinctions of the University are awarded by the Senate.


Committees of Senate:


Election of Members of Senate:

Senate Election Timetable April 2017

Senate Ballot Paper Natural Sciences 2017

Senate Ballot Paper- HUMSS 2017

‌Elections are run in the Spring to fill vacancies arising from the Electoral Roll. 


The Senate has 57 members comprising ex-officio members, members of the electoral roll and students.


Papers for the meeting of Senate must be accompanied by a completed ‌Senate Cover Sheet 2016.