Modern Studies in Property Law event (MSPL)

One-day event

Keele Law School is delighted to host the next Modern Studies in Property Law (MSPL) 2019 one-day event.

The event will take place in Keele Hall on Thursday, 11 April 2019.

Over the course of the day, a series of mini-workshops will allow for a variety of speakers to present their work in progress within a supportive and informal environment. Each mini-workshop will include an opportunity for feedback and general questions and will be chaired by a colleague who will introduce the papers and take a lead role in the discussion which follows.

The event is an exciting opportunity for anyone with an interest in property law scholarship to meet and discuss their current research. It is open to property scholars at any career stage and accommodates all types of property law research, including (but not confined to) land law, trusts and charity law.

This event is free for all attendees, but does not include travel and other associated costs.

Refreshments and a light lunch will be provided.

Programme:

9:15 am Registration and Coffee

9:45 am

Welcome
Opening Address
Delivered by Professsor Nick Hopkins: Law Commissioner for Property Family and Trust Law
An update on Law Commission work in progress

Session 1

10:30 - 11:50 am

Victoria Ball and  Martin George (University ofLeicester)
vicki.ball@leicester.ac.uk
martin.george@leicester.ac.uk
The Law’s Responses to Physical Intrusions of Land


Sean Thomas (Durham University)
sean.thomas@durham.ac.uk
Smart Homes and Virtual Fixtures

Session 2
12 – 1:20 pm

Adam Baker (University of Leeds)
A.J.Baker@leeds.ac.uk
The Judicial Framing of New Duties Affecting Land Use


Susan Pascoe (Middlesex University)
S.Pascoe@mdx.ac.uk
Recreational Easements – New Land Rights?

1:20 – 2 pm

Lunch

Session 3
2 – 3:20 pm

Anne Bottomley (University of Kent)
A.B.Bottomley@kent.ac.uk
The Public House: Property, Business Models and the Protection of Community Assets


Jill M Fraley (Washington and Lee University)
fraleyj@wlu.edu
Modern Waste Law and Mortgages

 3.20 pm

 Coffee

Session 4
3:35 – 4:55 pm

Katarzyna Krolikowska (University of Warsaw)
kasiawar1@o2.pl
Limitation of petitory actions regarding movables in a comparative perspective


Derek Whayman (Newcastle University)
derek.whayman@newcastle.ac.uk
Tracing as Fiduciary Account of Profits not Property

MSPL programme‌ download


Event date
Event Time
9:00AM
Location
Keele Hall
Organiser
School of Law
Contact email
Mspl2019@keele.ac.uk
Contact telephone
+44(0)1782 733218

Register now