Keele Physics Centre

Evening Talk Series 2022-23

These talks are open to the public and are sponsored by the West Midlands Branch of the IoP.‌

Keele Physics Centre evening lecture series mailing list

Upcoming lectures

Talks start at 7.00pm and are followed by Q&A. These talks are free, open to the public and are sponsored by the West Midlands Branch of the Institute of Physics. All talks will be accompanied by a British Sign Language Interpreter.

IoP logo

Date Speaker Title In-person / virtual
17 November 2022 Mitchell Perry (University of Sheffield) Quantum Sensors for the Hidden sector
(QSHS)
In-person
26 January 2023 Dr Kate Lancaster (University of York) Is it Possible to Build a Star on Earth In-person
16 February 2023 Dr Ronald S Gamble Jnr (NASA Goddard Space Flight Centre) The Nature of Cosmic Geometry Virtual
16 March 2023 Dr Tianning Xu (ChargePoint) Electric Vehicle Charging In-person
20 April 2023 Dr John Mansfield (University of Michigan) Micro-characterisation Applications of Cultural Artifacts Virtual

 

Previous lectures

2022

Date

Speaker

Title
13 October

Ashish Sharma & James Hackney
(University of Wolverhampton)

Eratosthenes
5 April

Tommy Isaac (Progressive Energy Ltd)

HyDeploy – Introducing hydrogen into the UK gas grid

2021

Date

Speaker

Title

16 December Dr Patricia Schmidt (University of Birmingham) Gravitational waves
18 November Dr Julianna Morbec (Keele University) The fantastic world of 2D materials
21 October Professor Ard Louis (University of Oxford) Why the world is simple: from evolution to algorithms
18 March Rossella Bonetti (Ansaldo Energia) SMR lead-cooled fast reactors
25 February Allan Simpson (National Nuclear Laboratory - NNL) Nuclear data - the original big data challenge
11 February

Dr Natasha Stephen (University of Plymouth)

Extra-Terrestrial Geology; exploring Mars as an earth-bound astronaut
21 January

Dr Mark Whalley (Institute of Physics)

Life and work of William & Caroline Herschel

2020

Date

Speaker

Title

17 December 

Professor Raphael Hirschi (Keele University)

What are you made of?

15 October

Dr Kostas Nikolopoulos (University of Birmingham)

In search for the origin of mass

School address

Lennard-Jones School of Chemical and Physical Sciences
Lennard-Jones Building
Keele University
Staffordshire
ST5 5BG, UK
Phone (School Office): +44 (0)1782 733033, +44 (0)1782 733313
Email: chemistry@keele.ac.uk, forensics@keele.ac.uk, physics@keele.ac.uk

Programme directors

Chemistry and Medicinal Chemistry
Dr Matthew O'Brien
Tel : +44 (0)1782 734371
Email : m.obrien@keele.ac.uk

Forensic Science
Dr Jamie K. Pringle
Tel : +44 (0)1782 733163
Email : j.k.pringle@keele.ac.uk

Physics and Astrophysics
Dr Arumugam Mahendrasingam
Tel : +44 (0)1782 733312
Email : a.mahendrasingam@keele.ac.uk

 

Admission tutors

Chemistry and Medicinal Chemistry
Dr Natalie Capel
Tel : +44 (0)1782 733584
Email : n.j.capel@keele.ac.uk

Forensic Science
Victoria Cartwright
Tel : +44 (0)1782 733584
Email : v.cartwright@keele.ac.uk

Physics and Astrophysics
Dr Patrick Connell
Tel : +44 (0)1782 733892
Email : physics@keele.ac.uk or p.j.connell@keele.ac.uk