Keele College of Fellows

In 2011, Keele University founded the College of Fellows as a means of continued engagement with key regional individuals.

This small group of supporters and stakeholders are advocates for the University on a regional, national and international level and provides an informal forum in support of the University’s advancement.

Although the College has no executive powers, it serves as a vehicle to enable the University to draw on a range of expertise from opinion formers who can shape and influence Keele’s reputation, as well as supporting its development across a range of stakeholder groups.

Whilst there have been many changes since its foundation more than 50 years ago, Keele’s vision remains faithful to that of its forbearers – to provide life-changing opportunities for all those who can demonstrate commitment and determination to success, irrespective of their circumstances.


What does the College of Fellows do?

  • Promotes Keele University in all of its activities – its undergraduate and postgraduate education, its distinctive research and its commitment to social and economic impact and sustainability.
  • Advocates the University’s world-leading research in key areas of health, sustainability and ageing, and engage potential stakeholders in new research opportunities, collaborations, funding and support.
  • Cultivates relationships which engage organisations and business leaders with the University’s expertise in green technologies.
  • Seeks new opportunities for ventures in teaching, research and service provision.
  • Identifies and harnesses inward investment opportunities which drive Keele’s development strategies.
  • Supports Keele’s vision of continuous advancement by providing students with a world-class university experience through securing alliances with individuals and organisations who will share and invest in these aspirations.
  • Engages with the University’s International Framework to strengthen Keele’s global outreach to potential students, partners and collaborators.

College of Fellows

90x90 Gaye Blake Roberts

Dr Gaye Blake Roberts FMA FRSA

Chair of Keele University College of Fellows.

Curator of the Wedgwood Museum;
Honorary Doctor of Keele University (2010)

90x90 Jonty Bloom

Mr Jonty Bloom

Business Correspondent for the BBC;
Alumni of Keele University

90x90 Emma Bridgewater

Ms Emma Bridgewater

Chair of Emma Bridgewater Ceramics;
Honorary Doctor of Keele University (2012)

90x90 Sinead Butters

Mrs Sinéad Butters

Chief Executive of Aspire Housing

90x90 Karen Dobson

Ms Karen Dobson

Principal of Newcastle-under-Lyme College

90x90 Ann Fisher

Mrs Ann Fisher

High Sheriff of Staffordshire

90x90 Michael O'Connor

Mr Mike O'Connor CBE, BSc, M.Sc

Chief Executive of StepChange charity

90x90 Eric Hassall

Mr Eric Hassall CBE, FRICS, FIMMM, FGS

Former Partner at Wardell Armstrong;
Honorary Doctor of Keele University (2009)

90x90 Pritpal Nagi

Mr Pritpal Singh Nagi MBE

Local Businessman and Entrepreneur

90x90 Philip Soar

Mr Philip Soar

Chairman and Investor in International Media Groups

90x90 Lord Stafford

The Rt Hon The Lord Stafford DL ARAgS

Chairman of Countryside Learning;
Honorary Doctor of Keele University (2005)

90x90 Jo Williams

Dame Jo Williams DBE

Former Chair of the Care Quality Commission;
Honorary Doctor of Letters (2009)

90x90 Sara Williams

Ms Sara Williams

Chief Executive of Staffordshire Chambers of Commerce

90x90 Malcolm Peckham

Mr Malcolm Peckham DUniv, JP, BA, Cert Ed

Former Pro-Chancellor and Chair of Council, Keele University

90x90 Ian Dudson

Mr Ian Dudson CBE CStJ

HM Lord Lieutenant of Staffordshire;
Former Pro-Chancellor of Keele University;
Honorary Doctor of Keele University (2013)

90x90 Joan Walley

Ms Joan Walley

Former Labour MP for Stoke (1987-2015)