13 new HEA Fellows announced

The Keele Institute for Innovation and Teaching Excellence (KIITE) is delighted to announce that 13 members of staff at Keele University have recently been awarded Fellowship of the Higher Education Academy (HEA) through the University’s HEA Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Route.

HEA Fellowship provides recognition of professionalism in learning and teaching in higher education, and evidence of commitment to continuing academic development. Across the four categories of fellowship, from Associate to Principal, individuals are recognised for their practice, impact and leadership of teaching and learning.

The 13 individuals awarded Fellowship in October 2019 are:

  • Dr Karen Adams - Medicine - Senior Fellow
  • Michèle Bourne - Foundation Year Office - Senior Fellow
  • Maria Allinson - Pharmacy - Senior Fellow
  • Dr Shalini Sharma - Humanities - Senior Fellow
  • Scott Chesworth - Library - Fellow
  • Gillian Grigson - Library - Fellow
  • Julie Beard - Library - Fellow
  • Dr Laura Hibberts - Foundation Year - Fellow
  • Rachael Lewis - Library - Fellow
  • Karen Wyatt - Library - Associate Fellow
  • Tahani Waleed Jihad - Pharmacy - Associate Fellow
  • Ben Hibbert - SPIRE - Associate Fellow
  • Helen Burton - Library - Associate Fellow

Gill Grigson, Training and Information Support Librarian at the CEC Health Library, was awarded Fellowship of the Higher Education Academy. Gill commented: 

"I was delighted to receive confirmation that I had been granted Fellowship of the HEA. Along with several other colleagues from both the Health Library and the Campus Library, the award recognises the valuable work that library staff do to support teaching and learning. On a personal level, the process of preparing my application encouraged me to reflect on and refresh the work that I do with students." 

Six Fellowships were awarded to members of staff in the Campus Library and Health Library. Jo-Anne Watts, Academic Services Manager at the Library commented:

"This is a great achievement for staff in the Library which recognises the impact of the excellent work they do in regards to supporting learning and teaching at Keele. Using a peer mentoring approach while working towards submission has also allowed library staff from the Campus Library, Health Library, and Special Collections & Archives to work more closely, learn about each others' roles, and support each other along the way."

Dr Russ Crawford, Academic Developer in KIITE commented: 

“Recognition of teaching and learning is a key aspect of professional, personal and career development in all facets of working in a University.  Keele’s HEA CPD Route is a critical engagement point for us to seek that recognition for the excellent work we are doing in leading and supporting teaching in a myriad of ways. We are proud to see such a breadth of practice emerge from this latest group of colleagues who achieved their recognition via the route.”

Congratulations to all of the recipients!

To find out more about the HEA CPD route offered through the Keele Institute for Innovation and Teaching Excellence, visit the website or contact Academic Development via academicdevelopment@keele.ac.uk