Bob Beattie Awards Evening 2018

3MT Pre-drinks 600x339

Once again Institute and the KPA joined forces to bring the KPA Bob Beattie Awards Evening and the Three Minute Thesis final together for a second year. It makes so much sense; the award recognises the overall excellence of a member of the postgraduate community, not just their academic pursuits but also the contributions they have given to the postgraduate community, whilst the Three Minute Thesis is a fantastic showcase of postgraduate research at Keele.

3MT Dinner 600x472

Whilst the eyes of the nation were trained on England in Volgograd, the 3MT final was the only game in town at Keele, with five keen finalists competing for the prestigious title of Keele 3MT winner 2018 and the opportunity to represent the University in the national VITAE semi-final.

3MT Finalists 600x362

This year, as well as the ILAS PG conference, 3MT heats were offered across the university at the FNS symposium, the ISTM symposium and the Humanities symposium. In total the 2018 competition had 23 entrants in total, with representation from all three faculties and six participants went through to the final round ; Alison Aries (SHAR and ISTM), Angela Blanchard (School of Psychology) Annabelle Machin (IPCHS), Kara Holloway (School of Psychology), Sarah McKevitt (IPCHS), Grant Mitchell (SPIRE). Unfortunately, due to other commitments, Kara was unable to attend the final on Monday evening.

3MT Finalist - Alison Aries 600x400

Alison Aries - School of Health and Rehabilitation:

"These feet were made for walking"

3MT Finalist - Angela Blanchard 600x400

Angela Blanchard - School of Psychology:

"Through fog: An autoethnography of childhood emotional neglect"

3MT Finalist - Annabelle Machin 600x400

Dr Annabelle Machin - Institute of Primary Care & Health Sciences:

"Anxiety and depression in patients with inflammatory arthritis"

3MT Finalist - Sarah McKevitt 600x400

Sarah McKevitt - Institute of Primary Care & Health Sciences:

Physical activity (PA) in people with osteoarthritis (OA) and comorbidity: A multimethod study

3MT Finalist - Grant Mitchell 600x400

Grant Mitchell - School of Politics, Philosophy, International Relations & Environment:

Dealing with the Radical Right: Mainstream Parties and Competition Strategies

It was no easy task to select one winner from a great line up of standout performances and Jonathan Wastling shared the judges’ deliberations highlighting the merits and distinctions of each presentation.

The Keele Three Minute Thesis winner 2018 is Angela Blanchard from the School of Psychology with her presentation Through fog: An autoethnography of childhood emotional neglect.

3MT Winner - Angela Blanchard 600x589

Angela started her PhD at Keele as a part-time student in January 2014 , she became full-time in January 2016 and is now in the final stages of writing up her PhD Her supervisor s are Dr Maggie Robson and Dr Kirsty Budds.

3MT Finalists with Jonathan 600x450

Tim Lustig shared some lovely memories of Bob in his time at Keele and in the KPA and the Vice Chancellor introduced and presented the Awards.

Tim Lustig 600x400

The Bob Beattie Postgraduate Student of the Year was Stephanie Lonsdale and the runner up Sahil Gufa with prizes of £1000 and £500 respectively.

Student of the Year Winner and Runner-Up 600x600

A further eight people received nominations and certificates; Ashley Murphy, Dorcas Umar, Helena Seager, Hollie Birkinshaw, Kristine Vu, Martin Goodhead, Mitchell Wakeman, Solomon Gibson.

3MT KPA Award Winners with VC 600x400


3MT KPA Team 600x400