Midwifery alternative qualifications 2018

Alternative qualifications accepted for 2018 entry to Midwifery with the Health Foundation Year

BTEC Qualifications  GradesSubjects GCSEs
Level 3 Extended Diploma or National Diploma   DMM    Any subject except Early Years

Applicants will normally be required to hold at least five GCSEs, at grade C or above including: Mathematics and English Language. From 2017, for applicants taking reformed GCSE qualifications in England, we will consider the new Grade 4 as being equivalent to a grade C.

Please note that we do not accept equivalent qualifications for Mathematics and English Language, and no longer accept Level 2 Key Skills/Functional Skills.

GCSEs can be pending when the application is submitted.

BTEC National Diploma in Early Years DDM   As above
Level 3 Diploma or BTEC National Certificate DD + 1 A level grade C/D Any subject except Early Years As above
BTEC National Certificate in Early Years  DD + 1 A level grade C   As above
BTEC National Award or Subsidiary Diploma Accepted only with other qualifications Any subject    As above
Other qualifications
CACHE Diploma in Childcare and Education Level 3 (18 units) Overall grade C As above
Welsh Baccalaureate Advanced Diploma Pass accepted with one A level grade C Critical Thinking and General Studies are not accepted GCSE Maths and English language/literature grade C
International Baccalaureate Pass plus one science subject (higher or standard level)   GCSE Maths and English language/literature grade C
Access to HE Diploma At least 45 credits at level 3 (88 UCAS points)   Please contact the School of Nursing and Midwifery for advice
Applicants' qualifications that are not listed will be considered on an individual basis.  Evidence of recent study within the last five years is desirable.