In common with all other degrees at Keele, the University's postgraduate research degrees are subject to the University Act, Charter, Statutes, Ordinances and Regulations. All research degree students are governed by the same regulations and framework for research degrees.

The Faculties/Research Institutes at Keele are responsible for supporting their research degree students to adhere to the rules governing their programme. The two regulations underpinning research degrees at Keele are below.


Degree Type Covered

Regulation C9  

Professional Doctorate 

Regulation C10

MPhil, PhD (including PhD by Publication), Higher Degrees by Publication (DLitt, LLD, or DSc)

Research degree students at Keele follow the same process as all other types of student for Aegrotat awards and Posthumous Awards.

Type of Award



A degree awarded in cases where students become too ill to continue their studies.


 A degree awarded in cases where students pass away during their studies.