Royal Institute of Philosophy Lectures

We hold regular Royal Institute of Philosophy events in which leading philosophers are invited to Keele to talk about their research and answer questions from the audience. This is perhaps the most popular invited lecture series in the university and anyone interested in philosophy is welcome to attend.

2021-22 Lectures 

Lectures in Semester 1 will be online. Lectures in Semester 2 will be on campus at Keele. Please email Jonathan Head.

Invited lecture series

Tuesday 26th October 2021

Julia Jorati (UMass Amherst)
Early Modern Theories of Racism

Tuesday 9th November 2021

Sean McGrath (Memorial University of Newfoundland)

Tuesday 16th November 2021

Annalisa Coliva (UC Irvine)

Tuesday 7th December 2021

Tom Clark (Brandeis)
Coming to Terms with Determinism

Semester 2


Tuesday 25th January 2022

Arthur Ripstein (Toronto)
Members of the Public

Tuesday 22nd February 2022

Stanislava Dikova (Essex/Keele)
May Sinclair’s New Idealism

Tuesday 8th March 2022

Davide Cadeddu (Milan)
Freedom and Inevitability in History: Carr vs. Berlin

Tuesday 22nd March 2022

Cristina Chimisso (Open)

Tuesday 5th April 2022

Free Will Debate featuring Raymond Tallis (Manchester)

Tuesday 3rd May 2022

Markus Schrenk (HHU Dusseldorf)
What is Proprioceptive Art?

These invited lectures are held in association with the Royal Institute of Philosophy, Keele-Oxford-St Andrews Kantian Research Centre, and the Forum for Philosophical Research, Keele University.

All enquiries to: Dr Jonathan Head -  01782 733515

Former speakers have included:

2020/21: Lucy Campbell, Edward Thornton, Nicholas Maxwell, Gabriel Dupre, Chiel van den Akker, Zachary Vereb, Paul Roth, Arthur Ripstein.

2019/20: Dr Javier Cumpa, Dr Mary Leng, Dr Henry Taylor, Dr Matthew Leisinger,  Dr John Shand, Dr Holly Lawford-Smith, Dr Maria Rosa Antognazza.

Darragh Byrne, Sophie Allen, Jonathan Webber, G.A.J. Rogers, Geraldine Coggins, Anthony Wrigley, Raj Sehgal, Andy Hamilton, John Divers, Rob Hopkins, Luc Foisneau, Daniel Nolan, Paul Bou-Habib, J.J. Valberg, Lucas Meyer, David Efird, Monika Mookherjee, Ann Whittle, Max Kölbel, Paul O’Grady, Dan O’Brien, Neil Gascoigne, Daniel Hutto, Thomas Dixon, Lorraine Code, Dermot Moran, Roxana Baiasu, Julia Tanney, Peter Baumann, Lilian Alweiss, Adrian Haddock, Denis McManus, Paul Gorner, Penelope Mackie, Gordon Finlayson, Robert Hanna, Philip Meadows, Adrian Moore, Stephen McLeod, Nafsika Athanassoulis, Rowland Stout, Sebastian Gardner, Paul Faulkner, Miranda Fricker, Peter Niesen, Glen Newey, Maximilian de Gaynesford, Maria Alvarez, Constantine Sandez, Ralph Walker, Richard Grey, William Child, Katerina Deligiorgi, Stephen Wilkinson, Helen Beebee, Chrisopher Bennett, Stephen Boulter, Nils Kurbis, Danièle Moyale-Sharrock, Matthias Klaes, Jens Timmermann, Helen Steward, Alberto Vanzo, Daniel Whiting, John Hyman, Lilian O'Brien, Sam Coleman, Marcia Baron, Geoffrey Scarre, Michelle Montague, Marianna Antonutti Marfori, Alessandra Tanesini, Paula Satne, Lisa McNulty, Roger Teichmann, Peter Kail, Fiona Hughes, Scott Sehon, Katerina Deligiorgi, Graeme Forbes, Oskari Kuusela, Jonathan Way, Alice Pinheiro-Walla, Robert Stern, Philip Goff, James Kirwan, Stephen Mumford, James Andow, James Lenman, Clayton Littlejohn, John Cottingham, John Callanan,Marit Hammond, Guy Bennett-Hunter, Amie Thomasson, Giuseppina D’Oro, Alex Papazoglou, Paul Giladi, Hans Bernhard Schmid, Stephen Makin, Nicholas Waghorn, Jonathan Head, Shane O'Neill, David Leech, Ralf Bader, Michael Bacon, Emil Visnovsky, Catherine Abell, Fiona Ellis.

Find out more about Philosophy at Keele

Accreditation logo for Athena Swan Bronze