Translations

If you wish to conduct research to validate a translated version, adapt the tool, or perform psychometric testing - please contact: j.hill@keele.ac.uk for permission.

 

Researchers

Level of research

Tool links

Laura Simons, Elizabeth Carpino, Melissa Pielech, Deirdre Logan, Rachael Coakley, Jonathan Hill

Boston Children's Hospital, Boston, USA

Laura.Simons@childrens.harvard.edu

Formal translation,  Patient face validity, Psychometrics

Adaptation for children & adolescents PPST - with scoring

For children & adolescents to self-administer PPST - to self-administer

Description of PPST measure

Mujahed Shraim

Lina Elsabbagh is currently re-doing this translation and validating it at King Fahad Specialist Hospital, Dammam. lina.elsabbagh@gmail.com

Informal translation

Arabic translation

Freddy Beretta Marcondes

freddy@iwmello.com.br

Formal translation in progress

Brazilian Portuguese

(In progress)

Ronson Sze-Long Lo, MB BCh BaO ronsonsllo@cuhk.edu.hk) and Clara Ching-Yee Ho, MA in translation studies.

Informal translation

Chinese (traditional) translation

 

Simeon Grazio

simeon.grazio@zg.t-com.hr

Informal translation

Croatian translation

Hanne Albert and Lars Morsoe

Lars.Morsoe@slb.regionsyddanmark.dk

Formal translation,  Patient face validity, Psychometrics

Danish Translation

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21296465

M van Hooff, W van Lankveld, P Anderson, A Apeldoorn, F van Hartingsveld, R Ostelo

m.vanhooff@maartenskliniek.nl

Formal translation,  Patient face validity

Dutch translation

(Psychometric testing in progress)

So Teele Kaarma-Tonne
Tartu University Hospital
teele.kaarma@gmail.com

 Formal translation  Estonian Translation

Christophe Demoulin and Olivier Bruyere

Christophe.Demoulin@ulg.ac.be

Formal translation,  Patient face validity

French translation

http://www.archpublichealth.com/content/70/1/12

(Psychometric testing in progress)

Bernhard Aebischer and Sven Karstens
Sven Karstens

s.karstens@hochschule-trier.de

Informal translation, Patient face validity, Psychometrics

German translation

Validation of the German Translation

Evdokia (Vicky) Billis
Assistant Prof in Physiotherapy 
Department of Physiotherapy Technological Educational Institute (TEI) of Western Greece
Psaron 6
Aigion 25100
ebillis@teiwest.gr
Informal translation  Greek Translation

Krisztina Feövenyessy, Physiotherapist, Balance Gerincterápia

info@gerinc-terapeuta.hu

Informal translation

 Hungarian translation

Luca Scascighini

luca.scascighini@supsi.ch

Informal translation

Italian translation

Mika Kawaguchi, Ko Matsudaira

Department of Medical Research & Management for Musculoskeletal Pain, 22nd Century Medical and Research Center, the University of Tokyo

mika_kawaguchi@jp-css.com

Formal translation,  Patient face validity, Psychometrics

Japanese translation

Japanese generic condition tool

(A formal validated version is due early 2016, article on psychometric validation is under preparation.)

Shuo Luan, Chao Ma and Shaoling Wu
Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hospital (Primary sponsor), Boji Affiliated Hospital of Sun Yat-sen University and Central Hospital of Guangzhou Panyu District, China

15018761213@163.com

Formal translation,  Patient face validity

Mandarin translation

(A psychometric tested version is due late 2013)

Trena Youngblutt

Informal translation

Nepali translation

Ingvild Lie Indergaard

Margreth Grotle

Formal translation,  Patient face validity

Norwegian_9_translation
Norwegian_6_translation
Norwegian_5_translation

Mohsen Abedi and S.J Mousavi

mohsenabedi110@yahoo.com

Formal translation

Persian translation

(Validation work in progress)

Azimi Parisa

parisa.azimi@gmail.com

 Patient face validity  

‌Persian translation and validation tool

http://link.springer.com/article/10.1007%2Fs00776-013-0506-y

Magdalena Rzewuska 

Informal translation

‌Currently being editedPolish translation

Vasiliy Tkachenko

tkachenkovd@yandex.ru

 Informal translation Russian Translation 

Narcis Gusi and Borja del Pozo Cruz

borjadelpozo@unex.es

Formal translation,  Patient face validity

Spanish translation

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21296465

Carola Betten

cabe0036@student.umu.se

Formal translation,  Patient face validity

Swedish Translation

Raghu Chovvath
Sri Ramachandra University,Chennai, India

chovvath@gmail.com

Informal translation

Tamil translation

 

Murat Dalkilinc
Turgut Ozal University, Ankara, Turkey

ptmurat@hotmail.com

Formal translation 

‌‌
(Validation work in progress) 

Usman Arshad Siddiqi

Usman.Siddiqi@BOLTON.NHS.UK

Informal translation  Patient face validity

Urdu translation

Rhian Lewis

Informal translation

Welsh translation

Emmanuel Egbewale

Informal translation

Yoruba translation

 

 Disclaimer

We are very grateful to our colleagues who have supplied translations. If they have formal qualifications as a translator we have described this as a formal translation. If the validity of the translated tool has been confirmed in a research setting this is also indicated. In the case of an informal translation the person supplying the translation does not have formal qualifications as a translator. As such Keele University cannot confirm the accuracy or validity of the translated tool and those using it must take responsibility for any consequences arising from its use in a clinical or research setting.

 

How to translate the Keele STarT Back Tool

Important: Do not begin a translation of the Keele STarT Back Tool into any foreign language/s until you have received written permission from the Arthritis Research UK Primary Care Centre, UK to proceed with the translation

We recommend that anyone wishing to translate the Keele STarT Back Tool read the following: Recommendations for the Cross-Cultural Adaptation of Health Status Measures (PDF - 393 KB) from University of Minnesota

Please follow the instructions in this document and forward any queries about translating the Keele STarT Back Tool, or new translations to:

 Jonathan Hill
Arthritis Research UK Primary Care Centre
Primary Care Sciences
Keele University
Staffs
UK
ST5 5BG
j.hill@keele.ac.uk
+44 (0)1782 73900
 
When using the tool please ensure the copyright and funding statement is maintained at all times.