Council Membership

(Council Member Biographies can be accessed by clicking here)

Class 1: Ex Officio

Charity Trusteeships Held

The Pro-Chancellor

Dame Jo Williams


Chair of AlderHay Children's Hospital

Non Executive Director Liverpool Community Hospital 

Deputy Pro-Chancellor and Senior Independent Member

Richard Barnes



Trustee Lichfield Garrick Theatre Trust

Trustee Burslem Port Trust 



Richard Callaway 2017-2021 Nike UK - Sports Director

Deputy Pro-Chancellor

Sally Bucknell


EY LLP - Employee; Director, Diversity & Inclusiveness, UK&I.

Manchester Advisory Board member - Common Purpose 

The Treasurer

David Hall

 2018-2022 Trustee - David Ross Educational Trust

Paid Consultant -JCB Academy

Retired Partner with Pension rights - Deloitte LLP

Paid Consultant - Best Dressed Group Limited

The Vice-Chancellor

Professor Trevor McMillan

 2015- Stoke and Staffordshire LEP 

The Deputy

Vice-Chancellor and Provost

Professor Mark Ormerod




Class 2: Members of University Staff

Members of the Senate appointed by the electoral roll of the Faculties

Dr Rebecca Leach

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences



Professor Nicholas Forsyth

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences


Institute of Science and Technology in Medicine, Keele University

North Staffordshire Medical Institute, Stoke-on-Trent, UK

Professor Peter Andras

Faculty of Natural Sciences



Appointed by the Professional Services Staff Electoral Roll

Emma Colley

Human Resources Directorate - Organisational Development 2019-2023 N/A

Class 3: Lay Members Appointed by the Council

Ruth Bagley



Warwickshire Rural Housing Association - Board Member

Ardynt Consulting LTD - Director

Thames Valley Chamber of Commerce - Member and Associate

Archives and Records Association - Member

RSA - Fellow

IOD - Member

National Trust - Member

Victoria and Albert Museum - Member

Solace in Business - Associate 

Paul Clark


The Sunlight Centre, Gillingham.

Trustee of Caudwell Children 

Sajid Hashmi


Trustee - National Association of Voluntary & Community Action.

Chair - Bury Voluntary Community & Faith Alliance.  Part of VCFA work involves working with University of Bolton and Salford on graduate placements.

Chief Executive - Unique Ways, Halifax.

Governor - Mathew Moss High School, Rochdale.

Director & Shareholder - Exquisite Solutions LTD.

Sherree Schaefer


Two Sixty Ltd 


Manali Lukha



Alistair Ulph


Associate Vice-President (p/t) (Sept 2010-) The University of Manchester

Professorial Research Fellow (p/t) (Sept 2010-) Economics Division, School of Social Sciences, The University of Manchester

Board Member (Sept. 2010 - June 13) Chair of Board (July 2013 -) Manchester University Press

Trustee and Treasurer (June 2015 - ) UK-Med Charitible Trust

David Brown


Board of the Association of Language Travel Organisations, Oxford Sixth Form College and d'Overbroecks Independent School.

Lesley Thompson 2019-2023 Chair of the Oxford Local Enterprise Partnership Innovation Board
Peter Harris 2020-2024 N/A

Class 4: Students



Amy Holden

Union Development & Democracy (UDD) Officer



Katie Charlton

President, Keele Postgraduate Association


Keele Postgraduate Association



Dr Helen Galbraith, Academic Registrar and Director of Student and Academic Services.