Senate - Membership

The Vice-Chancellor

Professor Trevor McMillan (10th August 2015) 


Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost and the Pro Vice-Chancellors and the Deans (including the Chairs of the Boards of Studies and Faculties)

Professor Mark Ormerod (Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost)

Professor Helen O'Sullivan (Pro Vice-Chancellor Education)

Dr Anne Loweth (Pro Vice-Chancellor Students)

Professor David Amigoni (Pro Vice-Chancellor for the period 2015-2020)

Professor Pauline Walsh (Interim Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences and Pro Vice-Chancellor)

Professor Shane O’Neill (Dean of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences and Pro Vice-Chancellor) (Advancement in Global Engagement)

Professor Jonathan Wastling (Dean of the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Pro Vice-Chancellor)

Professor Richard Luther (Dean of Internationalisation)


Academic Registrar and Director of Student and Academic Services

Dr Helen Galbraith                           



Mr Paul Reynolds


Heads of Departments and Schools

Academic Schools:

School of Computing and Mathematics Professor Peter Andras
School of Social Science and Public Policy Dr Rebecca Leach 
Keele Management School

Professor Kurt Allman 

School of Health & Rehabilitation Professor Anand Pandyan
School of Humanities

Dr Tim Lustig

School of Law

Professor Alison Brammer

School of Life Sciences

Professor David Hoole

School of Medicine

Professor Andrew Hassell

School of Pharmacy Professor Nigel Ratcliffe
School of Nursing and Midwifery

Dr Patricia Owen

School of Physical and Geographical Sciences Professor Christopher Fogwill
School of Chemical and Physical Sciences Professor Mike Watkinson
School of Politics, Philosophy, International Relations and Environment Professor Brian Doherty  
School of Psychology Professor Jim Grange

Academic Departments (Research Institutes):

Faculty Research Office for Natural Sciences Professor Claire Holdsworth
Institute for Primary Care and Health Sciences Professor Elaine Hay
Institute for Science and Technology in Medicine Professor Nick Forsyth
Institute for Applied Clinical Science Professor Simon Davies

Institute for Social Inclusion

Professor Derek McGhee


Members of the Electoral Roll elected by the Electoral Roll

Elected by the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Dr Sue Ashby (Nursing & Midwifery) 2015-2018
Dr Clare Jinks (Primary Care & Health Science) 2015-2018
Mrs Kim Sargeant (Nursing & Midwifery) 2015-2018
Dr Wynne Thomas (Medicine) 2015-2018
Dr Gary Moss (Pharmacy)      2016-2019
Dr Karen Adams (Medicine) 2016-2019
Dr Sarah Aynsley (Medicine) 2016-2019
Dr Claire Stapleton (Health and Rehabilitation) 2016-2019
Dr Gordon Dent (Medicine)  2017-2020
Dr Frank Rutten (Pharmacy) 2017-2020

Elected by the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Ms Robin Bell (Language Learning Unit) 2015-2018
Dr Sorcha Uí Chonnachtaigh (Law) 2016-2019
Dr Teresa Oultram (Keele Management School)                 2016-2019
Dr Elizabeth Poole (Media, Communications and Culture) 2016-2019
Dr James Peacock (English and American Studies)              2017-2020
Dr Mariangela Palladino (English, Film and Creative Writing) 2017-2020
Dr Phillip Morgan (History) 2017-2020
Dr Sophie Allen (SPIRE) 2017- 2020

Elected by the Faculty of Natural Sciences

Dr Claire Fox (Psychology) 2015-2018
Dr Helen Price (Life Sciences) 2016-2019
Dr Jacco van Loon (Physics and Astrophysics) 2017-2020
Dr William Kirk (Life Sciences)      2017-2020
Dr Chris Stiff (Psychology) 2017-2020
Dr Zoe Robinson 2017-2020

Student Representatives

Mr Tom Snape- Union Democracy and Development Officer 2017-2020
Mr Jeff Wiltshire- Education Officer 2017-2018
Ms Aysha Panter- Welfare and Internationalisation Officer 2017-2018
Mr Sam Gibbons - Activities and Community Officer 2017-2018
Ms Meghan Harrison- Athletic Union and Sport Officer 2017-2018
President of the Association of Postgraduate Students  
Mr Ieuan Smith 2017-2020


Secretary: Academic Registrar and Director of Student and Academic Services