The Senate is the academic governing body of the University. Its responsibility is to direct academic policy in relation to teaching and research and to assure itself that the University's academic standards are properly observed. Degrees, Diplomas, Certificates, Fellowships, Scholarships, prizes and other distinctions of the University are awarded by the Senate.


T‌o view the Senate Committee Structure please click here


Sub - Committees of Senate:

The Senate has 59 members comprising ex-officio members, members of the electoral roll and students.


Papers for the meeting of Senate must be accompanied by a completed ‌Senate Cover Sheet 2016.


Senate Elections

The Ballot for the election of members to Senate are now open. The Ballot will close at 5pm on Tuesday 8th May 2018. Any ballot papers recieved after this time will not be counted. 

Any member of the electoral role (all academic staff) in each faculty may vote, excluding members of staff who are ex-officio members of Senate (Deans, RI Directors, Heads of School). If you would like to learn more about the work of Senate, please get in touch with the Academic Registrar, Helen Galbraith, or Claire Baily in the Governance team.

Ballot papers (see below) must be submitted to Claire Baily at Hard copy ballots must include the voter's name and signature. Electronic ballots must include the voter's name and be sent from their Keele email address for the vote to be valid. Votes will not be accepted on behalf of someone else. 

The full elections timetable can be found here: Election Timetable 2018

Ballot Papers

Ballot Paper HumSS - 2018

Ballot Paper FNS - 2018

Ballot Paper FMHS - 2018