Research Development

The Research Development Team are here to support you in developing funding applications to support your research. We lead research-related projects through the RaISE project development process.

We can help you:

  • Identify funding opportunities to support your research
  • Develop research grant funding proposals

Mark Smith


Research Development Manager (ISTM; Pharmacy; Medicine)
David Weatherall Building
01782 732966
m.e.smith@keele.ac.uk

Joanne Simon


Research Development Manager (IPCHS; IACS; SHAR; Nursing)
David Weatherall Building
01782 732982
j.simon@keele.ac.uk

Dr Irena Zwierska


Research Development Manager (IPCHS; IACS; SHAR; Nursing)
David Weatherall Building
01782 733972
i.zierska@keele.ac.uk

Dr James Cook


Acting Head of Research Development
David Weatherall Building
01782 732967
j.cook@keele.ac.uk

Partnership Development

The Partnership Development Team supports you in locating strategic partners for their activities and works to develop and deliver high-impact growth projects. We lead partnership and business engagement projects through the RaISE project development process.

We can help you:

  • Identify opportunities for commercial and other strategic partnerships and providing relationship management support
  • Develop business collaborations for Knowledge Transfer Partnerships (KTPs)
  • Manage the Intellectual Property arising from your research and identify commercial partners

Helen Duffy


Faculty Head of NHS Partnerships & Engagement
David Weatherall Building
01782 733976
h.c.duffy@keele.ac.uk

Rosi Monkman


Business Partnerships Manager
David Weatherall Building
01782 733663
r.a.monkman@keele.ac.uk

Project Assurance

The Project Assurance Team supports you in putting in place contracts and meeting regulatory requirements, to enable projects to be developed and delivered within a risk-managed framework.

We work with the Research Development and Partnership Development Team to review, draft, negotiate and approve contracts on behalf of the University, as well as co-ordinating external legal support where it is needed for more complex projects.

We also work with the Faculty Business Managers to put contracts in place for around teaching and learning activities with external partners.

Dr Tracy Nevatte


Acting Head of Project Assurance (Contracts)
David Weatherall Building
01782 734714
t.nevatte@keele.ac.uk

Joe Clarke


Project Assurance Administrator
David Weatherall Building
01782 732971
j.clarke@keele.ac.uk

Kate Williams


Project Assurance Assistant
David Weatherall Building
01782 734466
k.williams@keele.ac.uk

Research Funding & Systems

The Research Funding & Systems Team works with the Research Development and Partnership Development Teams to produce costings for a variety of different project proposals and ensure that the University maximises cost recovery.

Yvonne Lomax


Research Funding Coordinator
David Weatherall Building
01782 734180
y.lomax@keele.ac.uk

Pauline Pursglove


Research Funding Administrator
David Weatherall Building
01782 674994
p.pursglove@keele.ac.uk

Pam Brannigan


Research Funding Administrator
David Weatherall Building

p.brannigan@keele.ac.uk

Research Operations

The Research Operations Team maintain oversight of the University’s research infrastructure which underpins the transactional activity supported by the other Teams. The Team supports the University’s Research Excellence Framework (REF) submission and Open Access activities, as well as generating management information for the University on research and innovation activities and supporting Faculty and University Research Committees.

Claire Ashmore


Research Operations Manager
David Weatherall Building
01782 734722
c.ashmore@keele.ac.uk