Psychology is one of the longest established academic disciplines at Keele University. We appointed our first Professor (Ian M.L. Hunter) over 50 years ago and since then thousands of students have graduated in Psychology. Today, we offer one of the most popular undergraduate degree subjects in the university. Currently we have about 600 undergraduate students studying for an honours degree in Psychology by following one of our BPS-accredited degree Programmes (Combined Honours or Single Honours in Psychology) and about 100 students following postgraduate or professional training courses.

In addition to undergraduate psychology degrees we also offer a wide range of courses at Certificate, Masters and Doctorate level. Our Counselling Psychology programmes are accredited by the British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy and we offer taught Masters degrees in Psychological Research with specialisms in Child Development, Social and Community Psychology, Cognitive Psychology and Psychology of Health and Wellbeing.   

There are approximately 50 academic, support and research staff in the School. Teaching staff are actively involved in research and a range of professional and advisory roles.

The School of Psychology is housed in the extensively-refurbished Dorothy Hodgkin Building where we have a wide range of up-to-date teaching rooms, and laboratories for staff and student research.