Law Teacher of the Year Award shortlist announced

Share |
Posted on 07 November 2013

A Keele University law lecturer has been shortlisted for the prestigious Law Teacher of the Year 2014 award, sponsored by Oxford University Press.

The awards have now moved into the second phase of judging, as the six shortlisted law teachers to be placed in the spotlight have been announced. They are:

- Mark Davys, Keele University

- Mark Edwards, Sheffield Hallam University

- Luke Mason, University of Surrey

- Kai Möller, LSE

- Lars Mosesson, Buckinghamshire New University

- Sarah Marie Nason, Bangor University


This year, with a record number of excellent nominations from institutions across the UK, the judging panel found it extremely difficult to decide on the shortlist of six. It took a full week of deliberations over the anonymous entries.

OUP, through the Law Teacher of the Year award, is pleased to be able to provide a national platform to showcase the excellent teaching on show at law schools around the UK and formally recognise the vital role played by law teachers.

Odette Hutchinson from Aston University is the current Law Teacher of the Year, experiencing first-hand the influence of an award focused on teaching: "Esteem and recognition in the sector tends to flow from research output. This award redresses this imbalance by championing outstanding teachers...To receive national recognition for teaching excellence from your own community is a thrilling and humbling experience."

Alison Bone, a member of the judging panel for Law Teacher of the Year, had this to add about the award: Students rarely remember the research their lecturer has done – they remember the support they received, the passion and the enthusiasm the lecturer demonstrated for their subject, the way they engaged them in the learning process by doing something a little bit different. All of these fundamental aspects of what makes an outstanding lecturer are acknowledged and rewarded in the Law Teacher of the Year award.

The candidates will now embark on the rigorous judging process involving campus visits and interviews. The winner will be announced at an awards luncheon on 28 February 2014.



At all times the teachers are judged against the following criteria:

* Displays an active interest in and development of approaches to teaching that

influence, motivate and inspire students to learn

* Demonstrates commitment to and support for the development of students as


* Uses effective communication skills that engage students in the learning


* Involvement in scholarly activities that have influenced and enhanced learning

both of students and colleagues


The judging panel consists of:-

Alison Bone, Principal Lecturer, University of Brighton

Marianne Lightowler, Head of Higher Education Marketing, Oxford University Press

Andreas Philippopoulos-Mihalopoulos, Professor of Law and Theory, University of


Julian Webb, Professor of Legal Education, University of Warwick


For further information about The Law Teacher of the Year Award contact:

Paul Bramwell, Marketing Assistant, Oxford University Press