Keele University appoints new Council members

Share |
Posted on 28 April 2011

Keele University has appointed five new lay members to its governing body, the University Council.

The new members include a partner with a global law firm, a corporate financier, a leading businessman and an experienced educationalist. Three are Keele graduates. They will take up their duties on September 1st.

They are:

Andrew Harris

A partner at global law firm, DLA Piper, with 27 years’ experience, Andrew practices commercial litigation, specialising in company law and corporate governance, contractual issues and professional indemnity.  Andrew is a Keele graduate. 

Lauren Nash-Jennings

A graduate of Keele University, and a former President of Keele University Students’ Union, Lauren has experience in the business, government and university sectors, working in both a client focused role and internal business projects.  Lauren is currently enrolled on the Legal Practice Course at Staffordshire University.

Simon Ramery

A partner at Cavendish Corporate Finance, Simon is Head of Cavendish Capital Advisory providing advice to companies on both debt and equity fundraisings from £3m to £100m, for growth and in distressed situations.  Simon works with banks, venture capital firms, private equity firms, corporates, high net worth investors, and alternative investors.  He is a graduate of Keele University.

Dick Steele

Chairman of Portmeirion Group plc, the international pottery firm based in Stoke on Trent. Dick is also Chairman of Country Baskets and Racoon International. He is a Chartered Accountant, a Chartered Tax Adviser and a graduate of Liverpool University.

Alistair Ulph

Associate Vice-President and Director of the Sustainable Consumption Institute at the University of Manchester, Alistair is a former Vice-President and Dean of Humanities at the same University and former Deputy Vice-Chancellor at the University of Southampton.  He has substantial experience of the sector both through working at a senior management level in 2 leading English Universities, and through the work he does for HEFCE in connection with Financial Sustainability and TRAC.

Simon Morris, Keele University Secretary and Registrar, said: “We are delighted to welcome our five new lay members, who were chosen following a selection process for which there was a very strong field of candidates.”

The Council is the executive governing body of the University. It has a collective responsibility to promote the University’s well-being and, in particular, for the proper management and financial solvency of the institution. Major policy decisions, as well as corporate strategy, are also subject to its approval.

The Council has a majority of lay members (neither employees nor students of the University), and includes among its members representatives of staff and students.


For further media information, please contact Hannah Hiles, Media & Communications Officer, on 01782 733857 or