Keele honours retiring Chancellor

Share |
Posted on 02 December 2011

Keele University has announced that it will be naming the School of Medicine building on its Staffordshire campus The David Weatherall Building, in honour of Professor Sir David Weatherall, who has retired after nine years of distinguished service as Chancellor of the University.

Sir David has served Keele with distinction as Chancellor since 2002. He succeeded Lord Moser to become only the third Chancellor of the University and has made a considerable and significant contribution to Keele.

During his time as Chancellor, Sir David saw thousands of young people graduate from the University, including the first graduates from the Medical School, and has been an exemplar and role model for our students, staff and graduates. He has also awarded honorary degrees to prominent scientists, community leaders, and key figures from the arts and politics

Professor Sir David Weatherall is one of the outstanding British clinician scientists of his generation. He is an accomplished pioneering researcher in molecular genetics, haematology, pathology and clinical medicine. He was Regius Professor of Medicine at the University of Oxford, 1992-2000, and is now Emeritus Regius Professor. He was awarded the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science by Keele in 1993. In 1989 Sir David founded the Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine at Oxford University to foster research in molecular and cell biology with direct application to the study of human disease. Sir David is also co-author of the Oxford Text Book of Medicine.

Jonathon Porritt, the eminent writer, broadcaster and commentator on sustainable development, is Keele's new Chancellor. He will be the University’s fourth Chancellor and his installation as Chancellor will take place on Thursday, 9 February 2012 – the first official event in Keele’s 50th Anniversary year.