Faculty of Natural Sciences' Postgraduate Research Symposium

Share |
Posted on 01 June 2017

Professor Jonathan Wastling Pro-VC (Postgraduate Studies) and Executive Dean FNS; Ieuan Smith Vice-President of the KPA and Anya Osborn PGR Representative Life Sciences welcomed staff and students to the Second Faculty of Natural Sciences' PGR Symposium.
Postgraduate Research students from across the Faculty of Natural Sciences gave oral presentations, and presented posters, including dynamic posters, showcasing the exciting and wide range of postgraduate research taking place within the Faculty; from computer modelling of activity in neural networks, to volcanic processes at active Indonesian volcanoes, or investigating the effect of malaria on the blood brain barrier. For the first time a "Three Minute Thesis(3MT®) heat" was run.

The winners will go forward to compete in the Three Minute Thesis(3MT®) Grand Final on June 20th at Keele Hall.

Professor Peter Andras, Director of Postgraduate Research, FNS gave the closing comments and announced the prize winners.

Prize Winners:

  • Oral Presentation
  • First Prize: Olivia Robertson (Psychology); Second Prize: Amy Johnson (Chemical Sciences)
  • Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Heat
  • Prize-winner: Hayley Gilman (Psychology); People's Choice Prize winner: Emma Whittle (Life Sciences)
  • Posters Session
  • First Prize: Nana Andoh (for Dynamic Poster) (Life Sciences); Second Prize: Emma Harrison (Psychology)