Database of Research Projects for Medical Students

Click on the link following each project title to download an overview of the project.
Project list last updated: 1st December 2017.

Institute for Science and Technology in Medicine (ISTM)

Developing methods to measure muscle morphology‌ (ICD_ISTM_Pandyan)
Prof Anand Pandyan
(a.d.panyan@keele.ac.uk)

Investigation of heart valve calcification mechanisms through the creation of biomimic in vivo pathological micro-environments (‌ICD_ISTM_Yang)‌
Dr Ying Yang
(y.yang@keele.ac.uk)

Human exposure to aluminium (ICD_ISTM_Exley)‌
Prof C Exley (c.exley@keele.ac.uk)

The development of novel methods to characterize thrombi as a source of clinically relevant data in acute ischaemic stroke‌ (ICD_ISTM_Lally_Roffe)
Dr Frank Lally (f.lally@keele.ac.uk); Prof Christine Roffe (christine.roffe@northstaffs.nhs.uk)

Physiological measurement of normal and abnormal movement patterns using biomedical technology (ICD_ISTM_Chadwick)‌
Dr Ed Chadwick
(e.k.j.chadwick@keele.ac.uk)

Investigating the role of microglia in the increased risk of neurodegenerative disease with metabolic disorders (‌)‌
Dr David Morgan (d.g.a.morgan@keele.ac.uk)

Neural tissue engineering strategies to promote central nervous system repair (ICD_ISTM_Chari)
Prof Divya Chari
(d.chari@keele.ac.uk)

Drugs used in knee surgery procedures: how do they affect the health of cells in autologous chondrocyte implantation (ACI)?‌ (ICD_ISTM_McCarthy_Roberts)
Dr Helen McCarthy (helen.mccarthy@rjah.nhs.uk); Dr Sally Roberts (sally.roberts@rjah.nhs.uk)

Investigating the potential of human umbilical cord derived-stem cells for wound healing (ICD_ISTM_Mennan_Roberts)‌
Dr Claire Mennan (claire.mennan@rjah.nhs.uk); Dr Sally Roberts (sally.roberts@rjah.nhs.uk)

Stem cell products for the treatment of immunological disorders (ICD_ISTM_Forsyth)‌
Dr Nicholas Forsyth (n.r.forsyth@keele.ac.uk)

Therapeutic potential of mesenchymal stem cell-derived extracellular vesicles in inflammatory arthritis (ICD_ISTM_Kehoe)
Dr Oksana Kehoe (o.kehoe@keele.ac.uk)

Antimalarial drugs (ICD_ISTM_Horrocks)‌‌
Prof Paul Horrocks (p.d.horrocks@keele.ac.uk)

Novel Diagnostic Tools via Proteomics (‌ICD_ISTM_Hart)‌
Dr Sarah Hart
(s.r.hart@keele.ac.uk)

The diagnosis of lung cancer through breath analysis (ICD_ISTM_Sule-Suso)‌
Dr Josep Sulé-Suso (josep.sulesuso@uhnm.nhs.uk)

Chronic disease comorbidity and patient outcomes (ICD_ISTM_Kadam)‌
Prof Umesh Kadam
(u.kadam@keele.ac.uk)

Vitamins, stem cells and potential therapies for Parkinson’s (PD) and Huntington’s Disease (HD) (ICD_ISTM_Fricker)‌
Dr Rosemary Fricker
(r.a.fricker@keele.ac.uk)

Anticancer drugs discovery (ICD_ISTM_Li)
Dr Wen-Wu Li (w.li@keele.ac.uk)

The percutaneous absorption of metals (ICD_ISTM_Moss)
Dr Gary Moss (g.p.j.moss@keele.ac.uk)

Proteomic biomarker discovery and functionality assessments in orthopaedics and spinal cord injury (ICD_ISTM_Wright_Hulme)
Dr Karina Wright (karina.wright@rjah.nhs.uk); Dr Charlotte Hulme (charlotte.hulme@rjah.nhs.uk)

Use of statins prior to percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI) (ICD_ISTM_Butler_Harper_Yang)
Dr Robert Butler (r.butler@keele.ac.uk); Dr Alan Harper (a.g.s.harper@keele.ac.uk); Dr Ying Yang (y.yang@keele.ac.uk)

Neurological injury models for regenerative medicine: biomaterials and cell transplantation (ICD_ISTM_Jenkins)
Dr Stuart Jenkins (s.i.jenkins@keele.ac.uk)

Therapy development for inherited neuromuscular disorders (ICD_ISTM_Fuller)
Dr Heidi Fuller (h.r.fuller@keele.ac.uk)

Development of novel therapies to treat muscle and metabolic pathologies in Spinal Muscular Atrophy (ICD_ISTM_Bowerman)
Dr Melissa Bowerman (m.bowerman@keele.ac.uk)

Medical Education

How is the Keele app for workplace assessment and feedback being used?‌ (ICD_MedEd_Lefroy)
Dr Janet Lefroy (j.e.lefroy@keele.ac.uk)

Student or provider: what are student evaluations of placements measuring‌ (ICD_MedEd_McKinley)
Prof Robert McKinley (r.k.mckinley@keele.ac.uk)

Why do medical students whose diagnostic thinking inventory score gets worse think that happens?‌ (ICD_MedEd_Gay1)
Dr Simon Gay (s.gay@keele.ac.uk)

How do non-clinicians judge professionalism from the way medical students dress? ‌(ICD_MedEd_Gay2)
Dr Simon Gay (s.gay@keele.ac.uk)

Medical student perceptions of over the counter medications‌ (ICD_MedEd_Gay3)
Dr Simon Gay (s.gay@keele.ac.uk)

How does OSCE examiners’ ability to hold students’ performances in episodic memory influence the feedback that they give?‌ (ICD_MedEd_Yeates)
Dr Peter Yeates (p.yeates@keele.ac.uk)

Natural Sciences

Cellular transplantation therapy for hearing impairment‌ (ICD_NatSci_Furness)
Prof Dave Furness (d.n.furness@keele.ac.uk)

The shelf-life of commercial sunscreens‌ (ICD_NatSci_McGarvey)
Dr David McGarvey (d.j.mcgarvey@keele.ac.uk)

Development of new therapeutics for leishmaniasis and African trypanosomiasis‌ (ICD_NatSci_Price)
Dr Helen Price (h.price@keele.ac.uk)

Assessment of cochlear fibrocytes before transplantation designed to alleviate age-related hearing loss ‌(ICD_NatSci_Furness_Evans)
Prof Dave Furness (d.n.furness@keele.ac.uk); Dr Michael Evans (m.g.evans@keele.ac.uk)

Functional genomics of dengue vectors in Brazil targeting the olfactory and immunity systems‌ (ICD_NatSci_Pelletier_Souza-Neto)
Dr Julen Pelletier (j.pelletier@keele.ac.uk); Dr Jayme Souza-Neto (jneto@ibb.unesp.br)

Primary Care

How do comorbidities / age affect uptake of treatment? How do they affect treatment response?‌ (ICD_PC_Levell)
Dr Jayne Levell (jayne.levell@uhnm.nhs.uk)

Osteoarthritis, radiographic imaging, diagnosis & management (ICD_PC_Marshall)
Dr Michelle Marshall (m.marshall@keele.ac.uk)

The association of education with musculoskeletal pain‌ (ICD_PC_Lacey)
Dr Rosie Lacey (r.lacey@keele.ac.uk)

Public health‌ (ICD_PC_Wilkie)
Dr Ross Wilkie (r.wilkie@keele.ac.uk)

Understanding the extent of, and reasons for, diagnostic delay in inflammatory bowel disease. (ICD_PC_Prior)
Dr James Prior (j.a.prior@keele.ac.uk)

The epidemiology of inflammatory musculoskeletal conditions‌ (ICD_PC_Hider)
Dr Sam Hider (s.hider@keele.ac.uk)

Trends in neuropathic analgesic prescribing for patients with knee osteoarthritis in primary care (ICD_PC_Bedson)
Dr John Bedson (j.bedson@keele.ac.uk)

Health Literacy - and polypharmacy - impact of HL on patient safety‌ (ICD_PC_Protheroe)
Dr Joanne Protheroe (j.protheroe@keele.ac.uk)

Notion of 'stepped down care' in community for patients discharged from hospital‌ (ICD_PC_Protheroe)
Dr Joanne Protheroe (j.protheroe@keele.ac.uk)

The epidemiology and prognosis of inflammatory musculoskeletal conditions‌ (ICD_PC_Mallen_Roddy)
Prof Christian Mallen (c.d.mallen@keele.ac.uk); Dr Ed Roddy (e.roddy@keele.ac.uk)

Psychosocial impact of living with osteoporotic fractures‌ (ICD_PC_Paskins)
Dr Zoe Paskins (z.paskins@keele.ac.uk)

Pain, distress, psychology, family and relationships‌ (ICD_PC_Campbell)
Dr Paul Campbell (p.campbell@keele.ac.uk)

The epidemiology of inflammatory musculoskeletal conditions‌ (ICD_PC_Muller)
Dr Sara Muller (s.muller@keele.ac.uk)

Qualitative methods/ Discourse Analysis/ Patient experiences of long-term conditions/ interaction in the clinical consultation/ clinical decision making/ Stratified Care‌ (‌)
Dr Ben Saunders (b.saunders@keele.ac.uk)

UHNM

Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm Diameters: A Prospective Study on the Discrepancy between the methods Measurements in the AAA Screening population (ICD_UHNM_Pherwani_Asquith)
Mr Arun Pherwani (arun.pherwani@uhnm.nhs.uk); Dr John Asquith (john.asquith@uhnm.nhs.uk)

An investigation into potential adverse effects of transradial access for invasive cardiac procedures‌ (ICD_UHNM_Nolan_Fryer)
James Nolan (james.nolan@uhnm.nhs.uk); Prof Tony Fryer (a.a.fryer@keele.ac.uk)

Gastro-intestinal problems in children with cystic fibrosis‌ (ICD_UHNM_Gilchrist)
Dr Francis Gilchrist (francis.gilchrist@uhnm.nhs.uk)

Long term changes in metabolism and obesity during peritoneal dialysis‌ (ICD_UHNM_Lambie_Elphick1)
Dr Mark Lambie (lambiem@doctors.org.uk); Dr Emma Elphick

‌Long term changes in peritoneal dalysis ultrafiltration‌ (ICD_UHNM_Lambie_Elphick2)
Dr Mark Lambie (lambiem@doctors.org.uk); Dr Emma Elphick

Long-term effects of pregnancy complications of maternal and fetal health‌ (ICD_UHNM_Wu)
Dr Pensee Wu (p.wu@keele.ac.uk)

Monitoring in patients with diabetes and thyroid function: How well are we doing and how do we change practice?‌ (ICD_UHNM_Duff_Fryer)
Dr Chris Duff (chris.duff@uhnm.nhs.uk); Prof Tony Fryer (anthony.fryer@uhnm.nhs.uk)

The effectiveness of the geko device to prevent deep vein thrombosis in immobile acute stroke patients‌ (ICD_UHNM_Roffe_Nevatte)
Prof Christine Roffe (christine.roffe@northstaffs.nhs.uk); Dr Tracy Nevatte (tracy.nevatte@northstaffs.nhs.uk)

Paediatric asthma admissions - a 15 year observational study‌ (ICD_UHNM_Lenney_Gilchrist_Peach)
Prof Warren Lenney (warren.lenney@unhm.nhs.uk); Dr Fran Gilchrist (francis.gilchrist@uhnm.nhs.uk); Jane Peach (jane.peach@uhnm.nhs.uk)

The relative effectiveness of bolus versus continuous nasogastric feeding after stroke: a proof of principle study‌ (‌)
Prof Christine Roffe (christine.roffe@northstaffs.nhs.uk); Dr Fahmy Hanna (fahmy.hanna@uhnm.nhs.uk)

Various meta-analyses around a cardiovascular theme‌ (ICD_UHNM_Mamas_Kwok)
Prof Mamas Mamas (mamasmamas1@yahoo.co.uk); Dr Chun Shing Kwok (shingkwok@doctors.org.uk)