Mandarin Chinese/Standard Chinese (Putonghua/Hanyu) is spoken by 70% of the people of China. Standard Mandarin (Beijing Dialect) is the lingua franca in a country of nearly 1.4 billion people, 56 distinct ethnic groups and 292 living languages. It is one of the six official languages of the United Nations. The written form is based on pictogram known as Hanzi (中文zhōngwén).

Learning Mandarin Chinese will give you opportunities to experience 5,000 years of Chinese history, 9,600,000 square kilometres of land, delicious food and many interesting customs and traditional festivals.

See the module catalogue for the description of:

Semester 1
Semester 2
Chinese 1Chinese 2
Chinese 3 Chinese 4
Chinese 5 Chinese 6


Which level do I choose?

There are 6 levels (stages 1-6). The qualifications table will show you the most appropriate module for your level of language competence. Where GCSE qualifications are given, we assume these were taken 2-5 years ago.


 Times for classes are dependent on the Keele undergraduate timetable and will be available from the beginning of the academic year. 

Students taking our language modules may also have the opportunity to get first-hand experience of language and culture during vacation periods – See Residential Summer Language Courses .