WriteFest 2018

Develop and celebrate your writing 

WriteFest is a celebration of academic writing that occurs throughout November. It’s a very positive and celebratory event, bringing together people from across the University to recognise and celebrate writing. 

The festival offers writing retreats, workshops and online resources to raise awareness and encourage people to get out and get writing together. The event is aimed at staff and PGR students.

WriteFest is part of Keele University's contribution to Academic Writing Month. It is a collaboration with the Universities of Sheffield, Exeter, Manchester, Bristol, Kings College London, Sheffield Hallam, Liverpool, Newcastle, Edinburgh, Derby and Adelaide!

WriteFest covers topics such as writing for publication in journals, writing CVs and personal statements, blogging, goal setting, and structured writing retreats.


Please see sessions offered during 2018 below:

DateTimeWorkshop Title
Monday 5 November 14:00 - 15:30 WRITEFEST: Productivity Tools - Avoiding Digital Distractions
Tuesday 6 November 10:00 - 13:00 WRITEFEST: Imaginative Writing for Academic Purposes
Wednesday 7 November 10:00 - 13:00 WRITEFEST: Creating an effective search strategy
Wednesday 7 November 14:00 - 16:00 WRITEFEST: Writing Reatreat 1 - Shut Up and Write!
Friday 9 November 10:00 - 13:00 WRITEFEST: Co-authoring, Collaboration and Notetaking using Google Apps
DateTimeWorkshop Title
Monday 12 November 11:00 - 17:00 WRITEFEST: Unstructured Writing Retreat at the KPA
Tuesday 13 November 09:00 - 16:00 WRITEFEST: 1 Day Structured Writing Retreat
Wednesday 14 November 14:00 - 14:45 WRITEFEST: Enhance your online research identity with an ORCiD
Wednesday 14 November 13:00 - 16:20 WRITEFEST: Student Learning Writing Retreat
Thursday 15 November 09:00 - 16:00 WRITEFEST: Institute of Sustainable Futures Writing Retreat
Friday 16 November 11:00 - 13:00 WRITEFEST: Writing for a lay audience - with The Conversation UK
DateTimeWorkshop Title
Monday 19 November 10:00 - 11:30 WRITEFEST: Crafting your CV and covering letter
Monday 19 November 14:00 - 16:00 WRITEFEST: Shut Up and Write!
Tuesday 20 November 10:00 - 13:00 WRITEFEST: Writing as Cartography
Wednesday 21 November 13:30 - 16:30 WRITEFEST: Putting Pens to Paper - Starting to Write and Developing Ideas
Thursday 22 November 12:00 - 16:00 WRITEFEST: Shut Up and Write your Dissertation
Thursday 22 November 09:00 - 16:00 WRITEFEST: 1 Day Structured Writing Retreat
Friday 23 November 13:00 - 15:00 WRITEFEST: Action Research Writing - Cyclical thinking on paper
DateTimeWorkshop Title
Monday 26 November 100: - 11:30 WRITEFEST: Constructing your personal statement and creating your online brand
Tuesday 27 November 09:00 - 16:30 WRITEFEST: 1 Day Structured Writing Retreat
Wednesday 28 November 13:00 - 14:30 WRITEFEST: An Introduction to GitHub - Not Just for Code
Thursday 29 November 14:00 - 17:00 WRITEFEST: Writing a 4* Paper (Natural Sciences)