Geology/Geoscience course prizes

We award a number of prizes each year to recognise outstanding performance by students in Geology and Geoscience. There is more information about Keele University prizes here.  Details of some of the prizes that are especially relevant to students on the earth sciences programmes are provided on the tabs below.

This prize is awarded in memory of Dr Thomas Patrick Burnaby, Senior Lecturer in Geology, who died in 1968. It will be awarded annually on the recommendation of the Head of School of Physical and Geographical Sciences for the best essay mark in the first year Geology Honours course.

Instituted in 1876, the Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland has the general object of advancing the knowledge of the science of mineralogy and its application to other subjects including crystallography, geochemistry, petrology, environmental science and economic geology. This award is given to the student with the best performance in mineralogy in the first two years of their degree.

The Palaeontological Association was founded in 1957 and has become one of the world’ s leading learned societies in this field. The Association is a registered charity that promotes the study of palaeontology and its allied sciences through publication of original research and field guides, sponsorship of meetings and field excursions, provision of web resources and information and a program of annual awards. This award is given to the student with the best performance in palaeontology in the first two years of their degree.

This prize was established in 1979 to commemorate Ian Harmer, a student in his second Principal year, who was tragically killed in October 1978. It is awarded to a student reading Principal Geography and Geology who has completed their penultimate year of study.

This prize, established in 2013, is provided by the British Geophysical Association. The prize will be awarded to the best dissertation on a geophysical topic. The British Geophysical Association is a Joint Association of the Geological Society of London and the Royal Astronomical Society, the aims of which are to promote the subject of geophysics, and particularly to strengthen the relationship between geology and geophysics in the UK.

This prize is awarded by the Institute for Materials, Minerals and Mining and the Western Institute for Mining and Minerals, and sponsored by local engineering and environmental consultants Wardell Armstrong LLP. The prize is given in memory of Mr F H Wynne CBE of Staffordshire who died in 1943. Mr Wynne was a well-known Mining Inspector and became the Chief Mine Inspector for Staffordshire in 1938. Mr Wynne was also an early and active member of the North Staffordshire Institute of Mining Engineers, which now forms part of the IMMM. The prize is awarded to the best Master of Geoscience dissertation relevant to materials, minerals and mining.

This award is to encourage and reward student engagement and achievement in the field of micropalaeontology. It is awarded to the student who demonstrates the best performance in the module ‘Micropalaeontology: Principles and Applications’.

This prize is administered by the North Staffordshire Group of the Geologists’ Association (NSGGA) in honour of the distinguished geoscientist and teacher John Myers BSc FRGS FGS. The NSGGA evaluates selected dissertation project work to select two winners of the award, one from the three-year Geology degree programmes and the other from the four-year MGeology.

This prize, intended to honour the long and distinguished service of the late Dr Colin S Exley, Senior Lecturer in Geology, was established in 1986 from donations by his colleagues and former students. The prize will be awarded annually to the student submitting the best piece of independent geological mapping as part of the Geology Honours degree course.

Accreditation logo for Geological Society Accreditation logo for IEMA Accreditation logo for IES Accreditation logo for RGS Accreditation logo for Athena Swan Bronze

*Accreditation is dependent on the degree route and modules taken