Visiting Speakers

Author Presentation 90x90  

Upcoming Research Seminars: October 2017 - June 2018

Posted on 06 September 2017 We regularly host research seminars throughout the year and invite scholars from a variety of institutions. All are warmly welcome, especially postgraduate and undergraduate students.
Creative Writing 90 x 90  

Keele Writing Events

Posted on 12 February 2015 September-December 2016. Keele has a vibrant creative writing culture and have regular readings from visiting writers.
ranters  

Interdisciplinary Early Modern Seminars

Posted on 06 September 2017 Several times a semester we hold interdisciplinary research seminars on early modern studies. All are welcome, especially postgraduate and undergraduate students.

News

 

Book launch: The Clash Takes on the World

Posted on 01 September 2017 Dr James Peacock hosted a book launch event for the essay collection he co-edited with Sam Cohen (University of Missouri), The Clash Takes on the World: Transnational Approaches to the Only Band That Matters (Bloomsbury), at The Wonder Inn in Manchester.
 

Dr Jonathon Shears wins the Elma Dangerfield Prize, 2017

Posted on 01 August 2017 Dr Shears' co-edited volume, Byron's Temperament, was awarded the prize by the International Association of Byron Societies.
 

Congratulations to our Class of 2017!

Posted on 12 July 2017 On 12 July staff joined our graduating students to celebrate their achievements.
 

English staff nominated for Student-Led Teaching Awards

Posted on 05 June 2017 On 5 June, staff across the university were recognised for their high-quality teaching through student nominations.
 

Dissent in the Neoliberal Era Symposium

Posted on 09 May 2017 Dr David McWilliam organised a symposium showcasing research in 'dissent' across the university, joined by academics from across the UK.
 

Amy Coquaz is awarded le Prix du Quebec

Posted on 24 April 2017 Awarded by the Quebec government, le Prix du Quebec is presented each year at the British Association for Canadian Studies conference
 

Gwendoline Riley's novel is shortlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction

Posted on 08 March 2017 Riley's novel 'First Love' joins the prestigious list of nominees.
books  

Teaching Excellence Award nominations

Posted on 03 March 2017 Lecturers in English and Creative Writing have received a high number of nominations for Teaching Excellence Awards
 

Careers in the Humanities event

Posted on 01 March 2017 Alumni from the School of Humanities visited Keele Hall to network with our students
Bentley_Nick  

Nick Bentley joins Laurie Taylor on Radio 4

Posted on 02 January 2017 Dr Nick Bentley appears on 'Thinking Allowed' discussing his research on fiction of the 1950s and working-class writing
 

Ghost Stories at Keele Hall

Posted on 17 November 2016 In the tradition of M. R. James, Twisted Tales has gathered three of the finest horror authors in the UK for an evening of ghost stories at Keele Hall.
 

King Lear screening to celebrate Black History Month

Posted on 12 October 2016 In celebration of Black History Month at Keele we are screening an acclaimed version of King Lear (Don Warrington as Lear)
 

'Responding to Crisis: Forced Migration and the Humanities in the 21st Century', 5 October

Posted on 01 September 2016 This is the inaugural event for the AHRC project 'Responding to Crisis'. Sign up to both sessions or to one; all events are free, but numbers are limited. To reserve your place, please contact the organisers.
 

'Byron and the Romantic World Conference', 30 September 2016

Posted on 20 June 2016 This annual conference (held alternately at Keele and Edge Hill universities) aims to bring together postgraduate researchers working within Byron Studies and related Romantic contexts, to reconsider Byron’s place within the Romantic world.
 

Romanticism and Ageing Symposium

Posted on 16 June 2016 Today saw the inaugural Symposium of the Romanticism and Ageing research network at Keele Hall. Dr Jonathon Shears organised the event which also featured contributions from Pro-Vice Chancellor, Professor David Amigoni.
 

Graduation 2016

Posted on 13 July 2016 Today we celebrated with graduating PhD, MA, BA, and BSc students in a ceremony in Keele University's Chapel.
 

English and Psychology student, Richard Seymour, nominated for Student of the Year Award

Posted on 31 May 2016 Richard Seymour is one of four students nominated for the prestigious Neil and Gina Smith Student of the Year Award.
 

Keele Creative Writing Society launch Anthology 2

Posted on 09 May 2016 Keele Creative Writing Society launched their second anthology of poetry and prose at Keele Hall. Students provided some terrific performances of their work, compered by Thomas Evans (Acting Society President)
 

Keele English staff nominated for Teaching Excellence Awards

Posted on 30 May 2016 Across the year students have been nominating staff for Teaching Excellence Awards, to show their appreciation of our commitment to high-quality teaching.
 

US Counsellors' Visit for Shakespeare Week (British Council)

Posted on 13 April 2016 On 14 March, High School counsellors from across the US travelled to Keele as part of a Shakespeare Week tour organised by the British Council. They were treated to a taster session on film representations of Hamlet, had a tour of the campus and Keele Hall, and talked to tutors and US students currently studying at Keele.
 

MA Creative Writing students launch Orange Peel Magazine

Posted on 25 April 2016 MA Creative Writing students studying 'The Writer in the Community' module launch their new literary magazine, 'Orange Peel', at Keele Hall
 

Dr Rachel Adcock's monograph shortlisted for John Bunyan Society Award

Posted on 03 February 2016 Dr Rachel Adcock's monograph, Baptist Women's Writing in Revolutionary Culture, has been shortlisted for the Richard L. Greaves Prize by the International John Bunyan Society.
 

Rediscovery of one of the world's oldest children's books in Keele Library

Posted on 17 March 2016 Stoke newspaper, The Sentinel, interviewed Dr Nick Seager about the rediscovery of one of the world's oldest children's books in Keele Library. 'A Guide for the Childe and Youth' was published in 1667, the same year as Milton's famous 'Paradise Lost'.
 

Publication: Dr Rebecca Yearling's "Ben Jonson, John Marston and Early Modern Drama"

Posted on 06 January 2016 Lecturer in English, Dr Rebecca Yearling, has published a monograph on the influence of John Marston, a lesser-known figure, on the work of his colleague, Ben Jonson.
Mike Jackson pictured with actor Joseph Gilgun, who played Mike in the film  

Pride at Keele: Q&A with Mike Jackson co-founder of LGSM

Posted on 09 November 2015 Mike Jackson, a former Keele student and co-founder of LGSM (Lesbians and Gay Men Support the Miners), which was recently immortalised in the hit movie Pride, is coming back to Keele on Thursday 19 November.
Thumbnail image showing two portraits believed to be of Shakespeare  

1616: The Secrets and Passions of William Shakespeare

Posted on 09 September 2015 Click here for information on how to get FREE tickets to see 1616: The Secrets and Passions of William Shakespeare on Saturday 3 October at the Mitchell Arts Centre, Hanley.
 

Rediscovering Class Consciousness in Contemporary Literature

Posted on 17 September 2015 Dr Nick Bentley (English) and Dr Beth Johnson (Film) co-organise a contemporary literature conference at Senate House, London.
Dorothy Richardson Portrait  

Dorothy Richardson Project launches online exhibition

Posted on 27 August 2015 The AHRC-funded Dorothy Richardson Project unveiled their new online exhibition curated by Dr Rebecca Bowler.
Keele squirrel holding 95% sign  

NSS success for English and Creative Writing

Posted on 12 August 2015 The 2015 National Student Survey results show that 95% of our students are satisfied with their course.
 

AHRC funding success for "Forced Migration" project

Posted on 24 July 2015 Dr Mariangela Palladino is the Principal Investigator on the AHRC-funded project, "Responding to Crisis: Forced Migration and the Humanities in the Twenty-First Century".
 

Publication: Dr Rachel Adcock's "Baptist Women's Writings in Revolutionary Culture, 1640-1680"

Posted on 04 June 2015 Lecturer in English, Dr Rachel Adcock, has published a monograph on the writings of Baptist women during the mid-seventeenth century with Ashgate Press.
Maps and programme for the Walking Studies seminar  

"Walking" Studies Today: Networking Seminar

Posted on 26 May 2015 Dr Ceri Morgan (English) and Dr Andy Zieleniec (Sociology) organised an interdisciplinary networking seminar on the topic of "Walking" Studies.
Dorothy Richardson's blue plaque  

The Dorothy Richardson Project team contribute to blue plaque unveiling

Posted on 15 May 2015 Professor Scott McCracken and Dr Rebecca Bowler joined the Dorothy Richardson Society in Bloomsbury to celebrate the anniversary of the publication of "Pointed Roofs", the first volume of Dorothy Richardson's novel cycle "Pilgrimage". Dr Bowler also published an article in "The Guardian" highlighting Richardson's importance to studies of Modernism.
Three copies of Dr Bentley's book on "Martin Amis"  

Publication: Dr Nick Bentley's "Martin Amis"

Posted on 23 May 2015 Senior Lecturer in English, Dr Nick Bentley, has published a book on Martin Amis for the Writers and Their Work Series.
creative writing 2015  

Writing Networking Event

Posted on 22 April 2015 ‌On 20 April Keele Writing held its first networking session at the Sustainability Hub. The event brought three dynamic writers to Keele to share ideas with current undergraduate and postgraduate students.
Brooklyn Fictions word cloud  

Book Launch: Dr James Peacock's "Brooklyn Fictions"

Posted on 02 March 2015 Dr James Peacock launches his new monograph, "Brooklyn Fictions: Contemporary Urban Community in a Global Age", at Keele Hall.